A list of the prime ministers of India pdf can be more helpful for increasing your general knowledge. It is also important for competitive exams because related to the PM of India's questions always have been asked in various competitive examinations. 

There have been 17 Lok Sabha elections held between 1947 - 2019, in which some people have been elected one or more times. There are 14 people who became prime ministers in India between 1947 to 2020. 

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru became the first prime minister of India after independence. Who held the post of PM for more than three terms.

Sri Narendra Modi became the 14th PM of India, who held the post of PM in 2014. Sri Modi has been elected continually for two terms from 2014. At present Sri Narendra Modi has been elected as the prime minister of India for 2019 to 2024.

The Prime Ministers of India
The Prime Ministers of India

The Prime Minister of India and related facts

In the order of precedence, the Prime Minister of India is 4th position of Constitutional posts. The Prime Minister of India is the channel of communication between the Council of Ministers and the President.

According to article 74 of the Indian Constitution, the President has a Council of Ministers to advise and amend on his works or functions, headed by the PM.

The Prime Minister is appointed by the President of India.  The Prime Minister must be the leader of the party in majority in the Lok Sabha or a person who can win the confidence of the majority in that house.

Role of the Prime Minister in Parliamentary System

In a parliamentary system of the Indian government, the Prime Minister occupies a unique position as the most powerful functionary who controls both the Parliament and the Executive. Some important roles of the Prime Minister are flowing:

  • The prime minister enjoys a large power of patronage. All the ministers are appointed and dismissed by the recommendation of the PM.


  • The Prime Minister allots work among the Ministers. Also, he can change their portfolios at will.

  • The Prime minister announces plans of the government on the assembly table.

  • The Prime minister is a leader of Loksabha, he advises the President to convene and prorogation the session of parliament.

  • The Prime minister can recommend to the President to dissolve the Loksabha anytime.

  • The Prime Minister is also the chairman of the NITI Aayog, National Development Council, National Water Resources, and National Integration Council along with the Cabinet Ministry.

  • The Prime Minister advises the President to appoint various officers like Attorney General, Chief Election commission,  Auditor General, chairman of UPSC, etc.

Salary of the Prime Minister

The Prime Minister doesn't get Salary as PM, he gets his Salary as a member of the Parliament. It means he gets the salary equal to MPs, but he gets some extra Allowances and facilities which are different from other members. As a salary, the Prime Minister receives 28,0000 per month including all allowance. Due to the pandemic of COVID-19, cut his salary 30% for 2 years. At present, he is getting 16,0000 per month.

List of the Prime ministers of India from 1947

In this table included the total list of the Prime Minister of India with his/her terms and important points.


Name of the Prime Ministers & Terms

Important Points


Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

15.08.1947 - 27.05.1964

Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India. His term was the longest in all of the Prime minister. he held the post of PM 16 years and 286 days.


Lal Bahadur Shastri

09.06.1964 - 11.01.1966

Lal Bahadur Shastri died in his work period on 11 January 1966 in Tashkand.


Indra Gandhi

24.01.1966 - 24.03.1977

First woman Prime Minister of India. Indra Gandhi was the first woman who became the Prime Minister in two different terms.


Morarji Desai

24.03.1977 - 28.07.1979

Desai was the oldest Prime Minister of India. Desai became the first Non-Congress PM of India and he was also the Prime Minister of India who resigned from the PM.


Choudhary Charan Singh

28.07.1979 - 14.01.1980

The first Prime Minister who has not faced the Lok Sabha during his term.


Indra Gandhi

14.01.1980 - 31.10.1984

Killed in her second term of the PM in 1984.


Rajiv Gandhi

31.10.1984 - 02.12.1989

Killed in bomb blasts of Tamilnadu.


Vishava Nath Pratap Singh

02.12.1989 - 10.11.1990

V. P. Singh was the first PM of India, those removed by the motion of no confidence. 



10.11.1990 - 21.06.1991



P. B. Narasimha Rao

21.06.1991 - 16.05.1996

He was not a member of the Parliament during the assuming office.


Atal Bihari Vajpayee

16.05.1996 - 01.06.1996

Became the Prime Minister of India for only 13 days in his term.


H. D. Deve Gowda

01.06.1996 - 21.04.1997



Indra Kumar Gujral

21.04.1997 - 19.03.1998



Atal Bihari Vajpayee

19.03.1998 - 13.10.1999



Atal Bihari Vajpayee

1310.1999 - 22.05.2004



Dr. Manmohan Singh

22.05.2004 - 26.05.2014



Narendra Modi

26.05.2014 - At Present.


List of the Prime ministers of India pdf


List of the Prime Ministers of India is a short topic but it is more valuable for competitive exams. If you are preparing for government jobs in India, you should not leave this type of topic. It can also increase your general awareness. 

 You may also know about the

National Congress sessions

National Days of India

 The President of India

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post